On the initiative of the already existing Viennese ‘Festival of Festivals’ in 1989 the organisers of themost prestigious tourism film festivals formed CIFFT (Comité International des Festivals du Film Touristique), i.e. The International Committee of Tourism Film Festivals.

The winner gains the Grand Prix CIFFT for the world-wide best tourism film of the year. During the year each of the CIFFT festivals holds its own jury and awards independently prizes to the films entered into the competition. Counting the awards throughout the year, the overall winner is determined by a point system at the end of the year.

CIFFT  work is esteemed by international tourism organisations, CIFFT is endorsed by UNWTO (The World Tourism Organization), ETC (The European Travel Commission ) and PATA (Pacific Asia Travel Association).

Members of CIFFT